The Westminster Public Library and Front Range Community College Library have jointly purchased various databases for use by our community.
Databases can be accessed inside the library by any patron using an Internet computer. However, due to licensing restrictions, offsite access from these pages is restricted to Westminster residents and Front Range Community College (FRCC) Westminster campus students, faculty and staff with a valid library card and PIN.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Use the Magazine and Journal Finder to see if it is available in any of the databases.
Visit the HELP page, or contact us during business hours. FRCC students, faculty and staff call 303-404-5504. City of Westminster residents call 303-658-2603 or 303-658-2303.
Abdo{Digital}
Get connected to learning with nonfiction & fiction eBooks for children from ABDO Publishing. An easy-to-use interface allows browsing by subject, grade level, or format.
Academic Search Premier
Contains full text for more than 4,600 journals in academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Ancestry Library Edition
Please note: This database is licensed for in-library use only.
AncestryPlus, an enhanced library version of Ancestry.com, provides instant access to more than 1.2 billion names, more than 3,000 databases, primary source documents and images and a variety of genealogical research features – with new databases added daily.
Auto Repair Reference Center
This database was created to educate, train, and assist the “Do-It-Yourselfer” in the repair and installation of automotive parts. It also provides maintenance and care tips for vehicles. Included in the reference center are: Nichols Publishing - former publishers of the Chilton Total Car Care Series manuals, Labor Guide, Specifications, and Recommended Vehicle Maintenance Intervals; Tech-Facts – publishers of OE technical service bulletins and recalls; Valley Forge Wiring – publishers of enhanced wiring diagrams; and Delphi-ISS – the world’s largest manufacturer of OEM/Aftermarket parts, service solutions, and training.
Business Source Premier
Provides comprehensive coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, etc. and full text for over 2,710 scholarly business journals. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Chronicle Career Library
Chronicle Occupational Briefs present information on more than 2,000 occupational titles, including 650 comprehensive occupational descriptions, ranging from those that require a high school diploma or less, through professional careers; that's more than 95% of the jobs in the workforce. You may select from the more than 2,000 occupational titles in the Alphabetical List of Occupations to find relevant occupational information.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Please note: This database is licensed for use inside the College Hill Library and remotely by Front Range Community College students and faculty only.
The CINAHL database provides indexing for over 1,700 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Colorado Historical Newspapers
(Connect directly by clicking on the Colorado Historic Newspaper link) The foundation for a statewide
historic newspaper database, beginning with 44 newspapers dating from 1859 to 1880 . The database includes
full text indexing of all articles, graphics, letters to the editor, and advertising. The user can view
articles individually or in the context of the full page of the paper. Users are able to search a topic,
individual or organization in a single newspaper, any combination of papers, or all 44 papers.
The papers are digitized from the microfilm version of the papers that are owned by the Colorado Historical Society.
Consumer Health Complete
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Contains an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical
introduction, listing of principal works and sources for further study.
Credo Reference
Compiles and searches over 720 reference books simultaneously. Search options can also include the library catalog and selected library databases. Many topic searches deliver news, images and videos in addition to reference book excerpts. Students will find the "Concept Map" feature useful for brainstorming research topics.
CQ Researcher
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues
to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year
including four expanded reports. CQ Researchers hallmark is scrupulous objectivity and balance.
Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts,
lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles --
plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.
CultureGrams
CultureGrams Online provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures. Each report, written and reviewed by in-country experts, offers an insider’s perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. Individual reports cover 180 plus countries, updated every year.
Denver Post
Full-text articles from the Denver Post, updated daily. June, 1989-current. This database also includes access to articles from 29 popular American news magazines as well as Special Reports on contemporary issues.
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in a variety of subjects and languages. There are now 4434 journals in the directory. Currently 1693 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 324708 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
Ebsco e-Book Collection.
Full text of reference, scholarly, and professional books in digital format.
Ebsco Student Research Center
This search interface for for students in grades 6-12 that provides easy, yet powerful searching of
magazine and journal articles, a reference collection, multimedia, newspapers, primary source documents,
poetry and literary criticism, geography and country studies.
La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book- Spanish)
La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos en Línea está organizada de modo que los estudiantes puedan encontrar información rápida y fácilmente.
ERIC
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included. Within the ERIC Collection, you will find records for: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, other education-related materials.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand features digital educational videos related to Humanities and Social Sciences.
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books you can use at home! A collection of 254 popular reference books for students and lifelong learners in e-book format available with full-text searching.
Gale General OneFile
Perfect for researchers at all levels; General OneFile includes more than 8,000 full-text titles; more than 3,600 journals; more than 25 years of backfile; and five newspaper indexes. With more than 100 million records at researchers’ fingertips, General OneFile provides instant 24/7 access to the largest collection of full-text periodicals available. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News,and Meet the Press.
GreenFile
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 612,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 9,100 records.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness,
Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse,
Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet,
cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Material contained in this Resource Center is
intended for informational purposes only.
Health Reference Center Academic
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health,
Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained
in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Also cross- searching Gale Virtual Reference Library.
History Reference Center
History Reference Center® is a full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, over 37,400 historical photos and maps, and at least 80 hours of historical video.
Kids Search
Designed for students in grades K-6, Kids Search provides elementary school students with an easy-to-use,
graphical interface for searching magazines, newspapers, photos, primary source documents, an encyclopedia,
a dictionary, media transcripts and more with just one search. Detailed Search features allows searching by Lexile reading levels.
Learning Express Library
Unlimited access to online practice exams, study guides and test-preparation books. This interactive online database features more than 300
practice tests based on official school and career exams, including the ACT, SAT, GED, ASVAB, U.S. Citizenship, Postal Worker and more. Learning Express eBooks are integrated into the results of your topic search.
Legal Information Reference Center
Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the ‘Legal Forms by U.S. State’ feature, users can search over 12,800 state-specific legal forms–searchable by top subject areas including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes and more. This database offers the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed “how-to” instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues.
LISTA
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts™ (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 titles. This database features: nearly 500 full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags.
MAS Ultra- School Edition
Designed specifically for high school students, this database contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 85,639 biographies, 104,481 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps and flags.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar online includes data and analysis on over 41,000 investments, market coverage and industry reports, portfolio analysis tools, screening tools for stocks, mutual funds and ETFs, analyst reports and ratings, and articles and videos on investing and personal finance.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Novelist
Allows readers to use a favorite author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles of interest. Users can browse theme-oriented book lists at every reading level through Explore Fiction, and look for outstanding titles in Best Fiction. Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and Book Talks.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more.
Oxford Music
Oxford Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to the full-text of over 8,000 academic monographs in 20 subject areas, covering the humanities, social sciences, medicine and law. With its inclusion in the wider University Press Scholarship Online platform, users are opened up to additional subject areas, including Archaeology, Anthropology, Film, Television, and Radio, and Society and Culture, helping to broaden users' research horizons.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Primary Search
Included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles 1990.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences This is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals.
Reference USA
Contains detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses.
Reference USA Health Care
A database offered by Reference USA with detailed information on 835,000 physicians and dentists nationwide.
Regional Business News
A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
Salem History
View digital versions of history reference books published by Salem Press.
Salem Science
View digital versions of science reference books published by Salem Press.
Science in Context
This database contains thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations covering curriculum-related science topics. The latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database also offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Searchasaurus
Searchasaurus is an exciting and easy way for young researchers to experience online searching. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. This interface searches Primary Search and Middle Search Plus.
Serial Solutions (Magazine and Journal Finder)
Indexes publications in selected library databases and the print magazine and journal holdings in the College Hill Library reference collection. Remote users please note: If you are accessing Serials Solutions from outside the library, some of the links to the databases from within Serial Solutions may ask for a username/password. If that happens, simply return to the database portal page and select the database directly from the list.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, Small Engine Repair Reference Center provides users with detailed, yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines.
Student Resources in Context
Student Resources in Context provides holistic topic perspectives by integrating a multitude of content, including: 79,000 reference articles from acclaimed publications like American Decades; 15 million periodical and newspaper articles from the New York Times, U.S. News and World Report, and many others; 4,200 primary sources; 100,000 multimedia records, including charts, graphs, maps and tables; and video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources.
TOPIC Search
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles.
Transparent Language Online
Transparent Language Online is a powerful web-based language learning system that uses flashcards to teach a set of words or phrases. It is the fastest possible way to lock foreign words and phrases into long-term memory. Features include personal progress tracking, pronunciation analysis, ESL international language and cultural resources and much more. Pick from over 80 languages.
TrueFlix
Watch, read and explore nonfiction True Books about people, places, history, science and nature. TrueFlix provides video, audio, images and text in an interactive format that makes learning fun. TrueFlix also supports the Common Core Standards and home school curriculum.
World Book
Access accurate, authoritative, easy to read articles from The World Book Encyclopedia, related articles from major newspapers and magazines along with extensive graphic and multimedia enhancements, including photographs, maps, illustrations, tables, animations, and audio/video clips.
World Cat
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Updated: May 2013