Return to FRCC Library Services for Online students page

Databases for Front Range Community College
Online Students

REQUIREMENTS FOR ACCESSING DATABASES

To access these databases students must have a FRCC Wolf Card which has been activated at the College Hill Library and a library PIN. If you do not have a Wolf card, you may request temporary access by filling out this form. Please allow 24 hours for your request to be processed. For additional information call the FRCC Circulation Desk at 303-404-5504.

HAVING PROBLEMS ACCESSING THE DATABASES?

Visit the HELP page, or contact us during business hours. FRCC online students call 303-404-5504.

ALPHABETICAL LIST OF DATABASES

Academic Search Premier
Contains full text for more than 4,600 journals in academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Business Source Premier
Provides comprehensive coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, etc. and full text for over 2,710 scholarly business journals. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Directory of Open Access Journals This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in a variety of subjects and languages. There are now 4434 journals in the directory. Currently 1693 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 324708 articles are included in the DOAJ service.

ERIC
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added twice weekly. If available, links to full text are included. Within the ERIC Collection, you will find records for: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, other education-related materials.

Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

GreenFile
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,750 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 titles. This database features: nearly 500 full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags.

MAS Ultra-School Edition
Designed specifically for high school students, this database contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines and provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,639 biographies, 104,481 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 85,639 biographies, 104,481 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps and flags.

Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Primary Search
included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles 1990.

Regional Business News
A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.

TOPICSearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles.

World Cat
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.