This help page is for library patrons using technology available from the
College Hill and Irving Street Libraries.
COMMON ACCESS PROBLEMS
Your barcode is not recognized:
- You must be a City of Westminster Resident or Front Range Community College (FRCC) Westminster Campus Student, Staff, or Faculty member with a valid library card to use the online resources. **Patrons not residing within the City of Westminster or affiliated with FRCC should contact their city or county library for information about access to these types of databases.
- Your library card number is 14 digits long. Be sure to enter all of the digits in the correct order. It begins with 2302.
- Be sure to enter the library card number WITHOUT spaces.
- Library cards do expire. Call the library with your barcode during business hours and (in most cases) we can renew your card over the phone.
Your PIN is not working:
Back to top
- Your PIN number is a four digit number. It can be one that you assigned or it can be the last 4 digits of your phone number.
- If your PIN is not working, you probably changed it to be something other than your phone number, or you changed your phone number and the library did not change your PIN. Call the library with your barcode during business hours and we will tell you what PIN is on file. You will NOT be able to access the databases or place holds until your PIN matches what the library has in your patron record.
Anti-virus and/or Firewall software issues
- If you have set the cookies properly through the browser and still get a Username/Password prompt when trying to access the databases:
- Check the settings of the anti-virus program (ex: McAfee or Norton) installed on your computer.
- Check the settings of the firewall software program installed on your computer.
- Check the settings of any other cookie-blocking software installed on your computer, such as spyware programs like Pest Patrol or Spybot.
NOTE: If any of these programs is set to block cookies, you will need to change the settings to allow cookies in order to access all of the library databases.
Web Accelerator programs
If you have set the cookies properly through the browser and still get a Username/Password prompt when trying to access the databases it may be your web accelerator program. A web accelerator can be a setting found in a standard browser or it can be incorporated into a browser customized by an Internet Service Provider (ISP). An accelerator downloads or "pre-fetches" pages that are linked to the one you are currently viewing.
- If is it a setting in a standard browser, find the setting and disable it for the time that you will be searching the online databases.
- If it is built into the customized browser provided by your ISP, then you will need to stop using the customized browser. Log on to your ISP, then minimize the customized browser and open a standard browser such as Internet Explorer, Netscape Navigator, or Mozilla. ISP's known to offer built-in accelerators include:
- AOL's Top Speed Technology
- Earthlink's Accelerator
- Netzero's HiSpeed
- Netscape's Web Accelerator
Back to top
WEEKLY MAINTENANCE SCHEDULE: All remote library services are briefly unavailable for weekly maintenance between 9-10 p.m. on Thursday nights. This includes access to the catalog, databases, online and phone renewals and downloadable audios.
Known problems if you are using AOL:
Access to the online databases does not work well through the AOL browser. In order to use the online databases, follow these directions:
1. Connect to AOL.
2. Minimize AOL.
3. Open a separate browser such as Netscape or Internet Explorer.
4. Connect to the online databases using this other browser.
TROUBLESHOOTING ERROR MESSAGES
"No authorized links" message
If you login to the online subscription databases, but only see the message "No Authorized Links" on the left-hand side of the screen, then there is a problem with the cookies on your computer. The software that we use for authentication to our online subscription databases requires cookies in order to work properly. Access problems with cookies can occur because: 1) the time on your computer is not set properly; or 2) cookies are not properly enabled/allowed on your browser; 3) the previous cookie is still active on your computer because you did not log out of the databases correctly; or 4) you used the back button in the browser for navigation or 5) Java is not enable on your computer.
"Username/Password Required " message
- ENABLING COOKIES:
Newer versions of browsers have changed where the choices are for enabling/disabling cookies. By default, the browser comes with cookies enabled at a setting of "MEDIUM". In this case, some of the library's online databases may work, but others will prompt you to enter a Username and Password. If you receive such a prompt, then try changing your cookies settings to "ACCEPT ALL" or fully "Enabled".
This link to the Symantec website provides additional information on how Norton Internet Security handles cookies.
Back to top